Nasarawa State University, Keffi (NSUK)


It was recognized at the very inception of the Nasarawa State University Keffi that a separate Law Faculty should be established to meet the increasing demand for the training of lawyers in the country. The Faculty of Law started in the 2002/2003 session admitting students from all over the country. The Faculty commenced its academic programme with 50 students.

The Faculty at inception was established with two departments, the Department of Private and Business Law and Department of Public and International Law. However, there is a proposal at the moment to remodel the Faculty into four Departments, namely, the Department of Public and Private Law, the Department of Property and Commercial Law, the Department of Islamic and Customary Law and the Department of International Law and Jurisprudence.

The pioneering academic staff of the Faculty were four: Professor J.N. Aduba who was the first Dean of the Faculty, Dr. Isa, Mr. John Shishi and Dr. Abdulkarim A. Kana.

Since the establishment of the Faculty, its students’ population has been increased from 50 students to 287 as at January 2013.

The Faculty runs a five year degree programme in law leading to the award of a Degree of Bachelor of Laws (L.L.B.).

In line with the NUC Minimum Academic Standards, students are required to take non-law courses including courses in computer applications. The courses offered by the Faculty are aimed at training students, who upon graduation can proceed to the Nigerian Law School for purposes of being called to the Bar. While students who do not intend to take legal practice as a career may find other career prospects in the public and private sectors of the country and abroad.

Blog Archive